South Carolina Massage Therapist Exam
To get licensed in South Carolina, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Charleston, Columbia, Hilton Head or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in South Carolina.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation, Office of Board Services.
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete at least a 500-hour course at an approved massage/bodywork school. A candidate must also pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer-based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide the Department with the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) notarized or certified transcript of completed course of study; and (3) notarized or certified verification of passing the NCETMB or the MBLEx. The documents should be sent to:
SC Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation
Office of Board Services
110 Centerview Drive
PO Box 11329
Columbia, SC 29211-1329
Phone: (803) 896-4588
The application can be done online at Application.
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who administers the Massage Tests: The MBLEx is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB).
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew his license every 2 years and fulfill a continuing education requirement which is 12 credits per year.
Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in South Carolina are regulated by SC Code of Regulations, Chapter 77, Massage/Bodywork Therapy.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests:
Michelle MacCubbin, LMT
Sara Rennie, LMT
Andrew Dacres, LMT
Chanel Andrade, LMT
Actual MBLEx Content Outline (source: The FSMTB Handbook):
Anatomy & Physiology
Benefits & Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
Client Assessment, Reassessment & Treatment Planning
Ethics, Boundaries, Regulations, Laws
Massage Overview & Bodywork History / Culture / Modalities
Pathology, Contraindications, Special Populations, Areas of Caution
Professional Practice Guidelines