Pennsylvania Massage Therapist License Exam
To get licensed in Pennsylvania, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Philadelphia, Pittsburgh or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in Pennsylvania.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Pennsylvania State Board of Massage Therapy.
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 600 hours of massage therapy education.
The candidate must also pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide the Board the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) transcript of completed course of study; (3) CPR certification; (4) criminal background check; (5) Certificate of Good Moral Character; and (6) verification of passage of the MBLEx. Candidates must send the documents to:
State Board of Massage Therapy
PO Box 2649
Harrisburg, PA 17105-2649
Phone: (717) 783-7155
MBLEx transcripts must be sent directly from the testing organization.
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who Administers the Massage Tests: The MBLEx is administered by the the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and Pearson Vue.
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew his license every two years and complete at least 24 hours of continuing education in that time period.
Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in Pennsylvania are governed by Chapter 20, Pennsylvania Code, State Board of Massage Therapy.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests:
Michelle MacCubbin, LMT
Sara Rennie, LMT
Andrew Dacres, LMT
Chanel Andrade, LMT
Actual MBLEx Content Outline (source: The FSMTB Handbook):
Anatomy & Physiology
Benefits & Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
Client Assessment, Reassessment & Treatment Planning
Ethics, Boundaries, Regulations, Laws
Massage Overview & Bodywork History / Culture / Modalities
Pathology, Contraindications, Special Populations, Areas of Caution
Professional Practice Guidelines