North Dakota Massage Therapist License Exam
To get licensed in North Dakota, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Bismark, Fargo, Grand Forks or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in North Dakota
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the North Dakota State Board of Massage.
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 750 hours of supervised instruction from a massage school or program. The candidate must also pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx)..
Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer-based exam. The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide the Board the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) verification of completed course of study; (3) certification of physical exam; (4) CPR certificate; and (5) verification from the FSMTB of passage of the MBLEx. The documents should be sent directly to:
North Dakota Board of Massage
Attn: Karen Wojahn, President
PO Box 218
Beach, ND 58621
Phone: (701) 872-4895
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who administers the Massage Test: Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and Pearson Vue.
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew their license every 2 years and complete at least 32 hours of continuing education.
Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists are regulated by Title 42 of the North Dakota Administrative Code.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests:
Michelle MacCubbin, LMT
Sara Rennie, LMT
Andrew Dacres, LMT
Chanel Andrade, LMT
Actual MBLEx Content Outline (source: The FSMTB Handbook):
Anatomy & Physiology
Benefits & Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
Client Assessment, Reassessment & Treatment Planning
Ethics, Boundaries, Regulations, Laws
Massage Overview & Bodywork History / Culture / Modalities
Pathology, Contraindications, Special Populations, Areas of Caution
Professional Practice Guidelines