New Hampshire Massage Therapist License Exam
To get licensed in New Hampshire, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Concord, Manchester or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in New Hampshire.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services, Advisory Board of Massage Therapists.
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 750 hours of course study that meets the standards of the New Hampshire Administrative Rules from a massage therapy school.
The candidate must also pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
For more information on qualifications, see New Hampshire Massage Therapist.
Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer-based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide the Board the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) transcript of completed course of study; (3) CPR and First Aid certificate; and (4) verification from the FSMTB of passage of the MBLEx. The documents should be sent to:
New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services
Office of Operations Support
Licensing and Regulation Services
129 Pleasant Street
Concord, NH 03301-3857
Phone: (603) 271-0277
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who administers the Massage Tests: The MBLEx is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and Pearson Vue.
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew their license every 2 years and complete at least 12 hours of continuing education every 2 years.
Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in New Hampshire are regulated by Chapter He-P 900.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests:
Michelle MacCubbin, LMT
Sara Rennie, LMT
Andrew Dacres, LMT
Chanel Andrade, LMT
Actual MBLEx Content Outline (source: The FSMTB Handbook):
Anatomy & Physiology
Benefits & Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
Client Assessment, Reassessment & Treatment Planning
Ethics, Boundaries, Regulations, Laws
Massage Overview & Bodywork History / Culture / Modalities
Pathology, Contraindications, Special Populations, Areas of Caution
Professional Practice Guidelines