Mississippi Massage Therapist License Exam
To get licensed in Mississippi, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Gulfport, Jackson, Tupelo or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in Mississippi.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Mississippi State Board of Massage Therapy.
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a training program consisting of no less than 700 hours approved by the Board and including at least 8 hours of CPR and 1st Aid training and a course on HIV/AIDs information and prevention. A candidate then must pass either the state’s pre-licensing exam or the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx). If the candidate is from out-of-state and has passed the MBLEx, the candidate has to pass a state law exam.
Applying for the Massage Exam:
Test Content: The state exams and the MBLEx have the following content:
Pre-licensing exam – The pre-licensing exam consists of 150 multiple choice and true/false questions and the candidate is given 3 hours to complete the test.
Law exam - The law exam consists of 100 multiple choice and true/false questions and the candidate is given 1 ½ hours to complete the test.
The exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
How to Apply for the License: Candidates must provide the Board with the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) transcript of completed course of study; and (3) verification of passing the state exams and/or the MBLEx. The documents should be sent to:
Mississippi State Board of Massage
PO Box 20
Morton, MS 39117
Official MBLEx results must be forwarded directly to the Board from the FSMTB.
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who administers the Massage Test: The MBLEx is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and Pearson Vue.
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew their license every 2 years and fulfill a continuing education requirement which is 12 credits per year.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests:
Michelle MacCubbin, LMT
Sara Rennie, LMT
Andrew Dacres, LMT
Chanel Andrade, LMT
Actual MBLEx Content Outline (source: The FSMTB Handbook):
Anatomy & Physiology
Benefits & Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
Client Assessment, Reassessment & Treatment Planning
Ethics, Boundaries, Regulations, Laws
Massage Overview & Bodywork History / Culture / Modalities
Pathology, Contraindications, Special Populations, Areas of Caution
Professional Practice Guidelines