Georgia Massage Therapist License Exam
To get licensed in Georgia, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Atlanta, Brunswick, Savannah or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in Georgia.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy.
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 500 hours of course and clinical work from a Board recognized educational program.
The candidate must also pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer-based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
How to Apply for the License: Candidates can apply online or send the Board the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) transcript of completed course of study in the original sealed envelope; (3) criminal background check authorization; (4) photograph of the applicant and (5) verification from the FSMTB of passage of the MBLEx. The documents should be sent to:
Georgia Board of Massage Therapy
237 Coliseum Drive
Macon, GA 31217
Phone: (478) 207-2440
Official MBLEx results must be forwarded directly to the Board from the FSMTB.
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who administers the test: The MBLEx is administered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and Pearson Vue.
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew their license every 2 years and complete at least 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years.
Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in Georgia are regulated by Title 43, Chapter 24A, Georgia statutes, Massage Therapy Practice and Board Rules, 345.
Michelle MacCubbin, LMT
Sara Rennie, LMT
Andrew Dacres, LMT
Chanel Andrade, LMT
Actual MBLEx Content Outline (source: The FSMTB Handbook):
Anatomy & Physiology
Benefits & Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
Client Assessment, Reassessment & Treatment Planning
Ethics, Boundaries, Regulations, Laws
Massage Overview & Bodywork History / Culture / Modalities
Pathology, Contraindications, Special Populations, Areas of Caution
Professional Practice Guidelines