Arizona Massage Therapist License Exam
To get licensed in Arizona, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Phoenix, Tucson, Flagstaff or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in Arizona.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy.
Qualifications to Receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 700 clock hours of study at an approved massage therapist school. If a candidate graduates from a school that is not a Title IV school in Arizona, the candidate needs to pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
Applying for the Massage Exam: Candidates can apply online to take the MBLEx. More information can be found on the MBLEx in a Candidate Handbook.
Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
How to Apply for a License: Candidates must provide the Board the following documents: (1) completed application; (2) transcript of completed course of study; (3) finger printing; and (4) verification from the FSMTB of passage of the MBLEx. The documents should be sent to:
Arizona State Board of Massage Therapy
1400 W. Washington, Ste. 30
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 542-8604
Fax: (602) 542-8804
Official MBLEx results must be forwarded directly to the Board from the FSMTB.
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who administers the test: The MBLEx is administered by the FSMTB and Pearson Vue.
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew their license every 2 years and complete at least 25 hours of continuing education every 2 years.
Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in Arizona are regulated Chapter 42, Massage Therapy.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests:
Michelle MacCubbin, LMT
Sara Rennie, LMT
Andrew Dacres, LMT
Chanel Andrade, LMT
Actual MBLEx Content Outline (source: The FSMTB Handbook):
Anatomy & Physiology
Benefits & Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
Client Assessment, Reassessment & Treatment Planning
Ethics, Boundaries, Regulations, Laws
Massage Overview & Bodywork History / Culture / Modalities
Pathology, Contraindications, Special Populations, Areas of Caution
Professional Practice Guidelines