New Mexico Massage Therapist License Exam
To get licensed in New Mexico, massage therapists are required to take a massage exam that covers such subjects as anatomy, physiology, pathology and kinesiology. Whether you live in Albuquerque, Las Cruces, Santa Fe or another city or county, the resources below will help you get started on the path to receive your massage license.
Need of a Massage License: A massage therapist needs a license to practice massage therapy in New Mexico.
Who Grants a License: Licenses are granted by the New Mexico Massage Therapy Board.
Qualifications to receive a License: A candidate needs to complete a minimum of 650 hours of massage therapy training to include:
- 165 hours of Anatomy and Physiology (including Kinesiology and 40 hours in Pathology)
- 150 hours in massage therapy (including contraindications)
- 75 hours of general instruction (to include Hydrotherapy, Business, 30 hours of Professional Ethics, a minimum of 4 hours of first aid and a minimum of 4 hours of CPR)
The maximum number of clinical hours is 150.
If you attended a school outside the state, candidates need to complete Form A.
The candidate must also pass the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx).
The candidate must also pass a state jurisprudence exam. The jurisprudence exam is mailed to you when the Board receives your application for licensure.
Test Content: The MBLEx exam consists of 100 multiple-choice questions with four choices provided for each question. Test takers have 110 minutes to complete the computer based exam.
The exam is divided into eight content areas:
- Anatomy & Physiology
- Pathology, Contraindications, Areas of Caution, Special Populations
- Benefits and Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
- Client Assessment, Reassessment, & Treatment Planning
- Overview of Massage & Bodywork History/Culture/Modalities
- Ethics, Boundaries, Laws, Regulations
- Guidelines for Professional Practice
How to Apply for the License: As part of the application process, candidates must provide the Board the following documents: (1) completed application (those attending out-of-state programs must submit Form A); (2) transcript of completed course of study; (3) first aid and CPR certification; and (4) verification of passage of the MBLEx. Candidates must send the documents to:
New Mexico Massage Therapy Board
2550 Cerrillos Road
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Phone: (505) 476-4870
Official school transcripts must be sent directly to the Board.
Fees: There are fees to apply to become a licensed massage therapist.
Who Administers the Massage Tests: The MBLEx is administered by the the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB) and Pearson Vue.
License Renewal Requirements: A massage therapist must renew their license on an annual or biennial basis and complete at least 16 hours of continuing education every two years.
Applicable Regulations: Massage therapists in New Mexico are governed by Title 16, Chapter 7, Part 4, Occupational and Professional Licensing – Massage Therapists – Requirements for Licensing.
And take Tests.com’s Massage Therapist Practice Tests:
Michelle MacCubbin, LMT
Sara Rennie, LMT
Andrew Dacres, LMT
Chanel Andrade, LMT
Actual MBLEx Content Outline (source: The FSMTB Handbook):
Anatomy & Physiology
Benefits & Physiological Effects of Techniques that Manipulate Soft Tissue
Client Assessment, Reassessment & Treatment Planning
Ethics, Boundaries, Regulations, Laws
Massage Overview & Bodywork History / Culture / Modalities
Pathology, Contraindications, Special Populations, Areas of Caution
Professional Practice Guidelines