Connecticut Tests

Welcome to the Connecticut tests page, with resources on tests and testing services in Connecticut in such areas as academic tests, professional licensing exams and driving tests.

Academic Tests

Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) - Connecticut students must take the CAPT in 10th grade. It measures their abilities in reading, writing, science and mathematics. If a student fails to pass any section of the test he or she can retake that portion during grades 11 and 12.

Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) - The CMT is required for students in grades three through eight. Students are tested each year in reading, writing and mathematics. They must also take a science test in fifth and eighth grade.

Professional Test

Connecticut Massage Therapist Exams and Licensing - Find information on what is required to become a licensed massage therapist in Connecticut.

Connecticut Plumbing Licensing and Testing - Find information licensing and testing requirements to become a plumber in Connecticut.

Connecticut HVAC Licensing and Testing - Heating and cooling professionals must pass an exam before being licensed by the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection. The exam contains questions on many different facets of the trade, including laws, contracts and bidding. It is computerized and a score of 70 percent or higher is required to pass.

Connecticut Real Estate Agents Licensing and Testing - Real estate agents must also pass an exam before receiving a license. The exam consists of 220 multiple choice questions. Candidates are allowed 165 minutes to finish the exam. It is computerized and applicants must get at least 70 percent of the questions correct.

Connecticut Elecrtrians Licensing and Testing - Electricians must pass an exam designed by the Electrical Work Examining Board in order to be licensed. This exam is administered via computer and is multiple choice. It contains a Business and Law section in addition to the questions on electrical work. Applicants have two hours to answer the 50 questions.

Driver's Tests

Connecticut Driving Tests - Applicants who wish to get a first-time license must take a written test, a vision test and a driving test. The first two tests must be taken and passed before a driving test can be scheduled. Applicants over the age of 18 do not have to have a learner's permit.